Boca Raton Criminal Defense Lawyer
All theft charges are serious, from petty shoplifting to grand theft auto. The state legislature has categorized theft into varying degrees of charges that carry different penalties.
Florida has adopted a requirement that all those convicted of petty theft have their fingerprints taken, and those along with the written judgment against the offender become a matter of public record. Even without a conviction, the names of people arrested for petit theft may become part of a national database prospective landlords and employers can access when they do background checks.
If you have theft priors, your sentence can increase exponentially with each additional conviction.
These offenses fall under the term “theft” in the State of Florida:
- Petty theft and shoplifting (stealing goods that amount to less than $300)
- Selling or dealing stolen goods
- Credit card theft
- Stealing someone’s identity
- Robbery and burglary
- Writing bad checks
- Employee theft/stealing company property
- Grand theft (stealing goods that amount to $300 and up)
- Check washing and check forgery
False Accusations of Theft
With shopping centers, malls, and retail stores taking so many stringent measures to prevent shoplifting, people are occasionally wrongly accused of trying to steal from a store. Mistakes happen, and store security isn’t always accurate. If this happens to you, don’t waste time. Until you contact a defense lawyer to try to prevent formal charges from being filed against you, it’s still a case of your word against theirs… and it may go on record.
Consequences for Florida Felony and Misdemeanor Theft Convictions
Petty Theft (First Degree):
Total value of stolen property falls between $100 and $299: Maximum 1-year sentence and maximum $1000 fine
Petty Theft (Second Degree)
Total value of stolen property is up to $100: Maximum 60-day sentence and maximum $500 fine
Grand Theft (First Degree)
Total value of stolen property meets or exceeds $100,000: Maximum 30-year sentence and maximum $10,000 fine
Grand Theft (Second Degree)
Total value of stolen property falls between $20,000 and $99,999: Maximum 15-year sentence and maximum $10,000 fine
Grand Theft (Third Degree)
Total value of stolen property falls between $300 and $19,999: Maximum 5-year sentence and maximum $5,000 fine
As a South Florida shoplifting and theft defense attorney with two decades of experience, Mr. Mead will evaluate your case and create the best, most effective defense for you. Please contact Charlie Mead today at (561) 362-6677 in Boca Raton, (561) 366-9565 in West Palm Beach, or (954) 493-7474 in Fort Lauderdale if you have been charged with theft or accused of shoplifting. You are innocent until proven guilty.
Major credit cards accepted
Payment options available
Se Habla Español • Fala se Portugues